• Tokyo Anime Award Festival reveals winners for Anime of the Year, Fan Award, and more

    The Tokyo Anime Award Festival’s official website has now revealed the winners of some of their most coveted awards. Of course, this includes the Anime of the Year, Best Director, Best Script, and many more. Here are the winners of this year’s awards:

    Anime of the Year (Theatrical Division): In This Corner of the World

    Anime of the Year (TV Animation Division): Kemono Friends

    Fan Award: Yuri!! On Ice

    Best Script/Original Work: Kinoko Nasu

    Best Director: TATSUKI

    Best Animator: Takahiro Kishida

    Best Art/Color/Visual: Nobutaka Yoda

    Best Sound/Performance: Yuki Kajiura

    Meritorious Service Award:

    • Singer Kumiko Ohsugi (Attack No. 1, Ace o Nerae!, Doraemon)
    • Art Director Shôhei Kawamoto (Doraemon)
    • Seiyuu Kiyoshi Kobayashi (Lupin III’s Daisuke Jigen)
    • Director Tsutomu Shibayama (Doraemon TV anime)
    • Director Gisaburou Sugii (Touch)
    • Producer Yoshio Takami (Galaxy Express 999)
    • Scriptwriter Hiroyuki Hoshiyama (Mobile Suit Gundam)
    • Production Founder Kouichi Motohashi (Dog of Flanders)
    • Animation History Researcher Yasushi Watanabe

    There you have it folks, the winners for this year’s Tokyo Anime Award Festival. They will be holding the event from 9th March until 12th March, with the awarding ceremony on the final day. Previous Anime of the Year winners include Hayao Miyazaki’s The Wind Rises, Love Live, and of course, Disney’s Frozen.

    Powered by Google