• 48th Seiun Awards honors KochiKame manga, Shin Godzilla, Ultraman F, and many more

    Much like the Hugo Awards, which honors author Victor Hugo, Japan’s Seiun Awards honor all forms of speculative fiction, and that includes Science Fiction. Now, the 56th Japan Science Fiction Convention (Nihon SF Taikai) has revealed the winners for the Seiun Awards. The awardees include:

    Best Dramatic Presentation: Shinji Higuchi and Hideaki Anno’s Shin Godzilla (Film)

    Best Comic: Osamu Akimoto’s Kochira Katsushika-ku Kamearikouen-mae Hashutsujo/ KochiKame (manga)

    Best Japanese Long Story: Yasumi Kobayashi’s Ultraman F (novel)

    Best Artist: Naoyuki Katoh (Legend of the Galactic Heroes Mechanical Designer)

    Seiyuu Haruna Ikezawa also won an award (Best Non-Fiction) for her comic essays, SF no S wa, Suteki no S. The convention also awarded Peter Tieryas, Ken Liu, James Tiptree, Jr., and Nihonium their own Seiun Awards.

    The members of the convention get to decide the winners through a vote. They will then hand out the awards in a ceremony during the 56th Japan Science Fiction Convention at “Donburacon-LL” in Shizuoka. Previous winners include Makoto Shinkai, Gundam: The Origin, Fullmetal Alchemist, and even Pacific Rim.



    Powered by Google


    Sales of the Frame Arms Girl Goody bags has now started.
    Each version of the bag is only available in limited numbers. While Stock last.
    Bag 1: Bag 2: